Arch rivals Pakistan, India battle in high octane Champions Trophy final

Arch rivals Pakistan, India battle in high octane Champions Trophy final

LONDON: The day is finally here – arch rivals Pakistan and India will play each other in the final of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 at The Oval on Sunday.

Pakistan and India have both reached the final in opposite manner. Pakistan has clawed its way into the final whereas India has easily made it to the final.

The green shirts lost its opening game to India by a whooping 124 runs under the duckworth-lewis (D/L) method. However, the team made a turn around and managed to win every single match onwards.

They beat South Africa by 19 runs under the D/L method and defeated Sri Lanka by three wickets to qualify for the semi-finals.

Pakistan knocked out hosts England by beating them in the semi-final by eight wickets.

India, on the other hand, started their champions trophy campaign in an emphatic fashion by Pakistan by 124 runs under the D/L method but suffered a seven-wicket loss to Sri Lanka. They beat South Africa by eight wickets.

The “Men-In-Blue” qualified for the final by beating Bangladesh by nine wickets in the semi-finals.

Pakistan (squad): Sarfraz Ahmed (captain and wicket keeper), Ahmed Shehzad, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hafeez, Rumman Raees, Shadab Khan and Shoaib Malik.

Sri Lanka (squad): Virat Kohli (captain), Ravi Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Shikhar Dhawan, M.S. Dhoni (wicket keeper), Ravendra Jadeja, Keedhar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Hardik Pandya, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Umesh Yadav and Yuvraj Singh.

Written by 

Related posts

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!